My Favorite Chocolate Cake

I made this for a coworker’s going-away lunch yesterday.  It’s a recipe from Ina Garten’s “Barefoot Contessa At Home” cookbook called “Beatty’s Chocolate Cake” (available here).  The cake batter contains a cup of coffee and a cup of buttermilk, making the cake dark and very moist.  The addition of coffee to the cake and the frosting (in the form of instant espresso powder) enhances the chocolate’s flavor, but you won’t even know they’re there.  (I say that for people who don’t like coffee – don’t let it stop you from making this cake!)  King Arthur’s (the flour people) has some great tips here on how to “make chocolate sing!” by using espresso powder in your chocolate baked goods (cakes, brownies, chocolate chip cookies, etc.)

This is the second time I’ve made Beatty’s Chocolate Cake (following Ina’s recipe to the letter) and it’s still the reigning champ of chocolate cakes in my book.

Wait.  I don’t have a book.  Hmm…maybe I should get started on that.

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Chocolate Cake

  1. Okay that looks likes a cake you would have seen on The Donna Reed Show!!! Perfection!! And it looks oh so tasty…

    Take a picture of what it looks like when you cut into it…I want to see the inside!!

  2. A little bit of coffee makes a big difference. I do it regularly, and don’t tell the coffee haters lol. It adds so much depth to the standard chocolate cake.

    You cake looks great!

  3. Hello!
    I was browsing the net and found your blog. Nice. A lot of interesting information one can use in RL.
    I have also a site on net. My site is dedicated to coffee.

    Come and see my site that is dedicvated to how to make coffee and see for yourself.

    All best with your site in the future.

    Roman from coffeeinspector.com

  4. Pingback: Ina Garten’s Tuna Salad « Q's Eats

Leave a Reply

